encourage other developers

Discussion forum about Anuko Time Tracker

encourage other developers

Postby hendrik » Wed May 16, 2012 10:17 am

Dear Time Tracker Project Admins,

I love anuko's time tracker and I use it every day to keep track of my personal and professional projects. I am freelancing and so I'm even using it to bill my customers and show them what I've done during project time.

However, as an ambitious software developer I find it very hard to deal with time tracker as an open source project. Yes, the source code is freely available and yes the license is liberal, but apart from that it seems to me (this is my personal opinion) that nothing more is done to encourage other developers to extend time tracker's functionality (or generally maintain the software).

Please don't take this as some form of personal criticism, I just think it'd be a good idea to make this piece of great software easily available to more people.

In my eyes, the following things should be considered. Again, this is not some form of demand, it's more of an advice:

• Provide easier access to the source code. In my eyes a git/github repository, googlecode or a sourceforge project should do this job very well. You also could maintain certain versions and branches (stable, unstable, etc.). I see that you guys are constantly updating the source code to fix issues and add functionality but there's nowhere a version number found on the web site, so I never see if my installation could/should be updated or not. Enable us developers to provide patches and fork the code base to work on bigger adjustments. I see that this is basically possible right now, but it's just terribly hard to maintain.
  • It seems to me, that the time tracker has no bug tracker? github/sourceforge/etc could manage this very well, too.
  • You could adjust your Liberal Freeware License to something more "common". In my eyes your license model is compatible to any BSD-License!