SCCM Deployment Error

Discussion forum about Anuko World Clock
Post Reply
BusinessMan
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 1:27 pm

SCCM Deployment Error

Post by BusinessMan » Tue Jun 02, 2015 1:34 pm

Hello,

We are attempting to deploy Anuko World Clock 5.8.1 to update for 5.8.0. Our package contains the uninstall strring to remove the currecnt version prior to installing the new. The issue we are running into is if the World Clock is running we need to kill the world_clock.exe process to remove the previous version. This only appears when running the package via SCCM Run Advertised Programs. We are using pskill.exe to kill the world_clock.exe process. However when we kill the world_clock.exe process its is causing Windows Explorer to crash as well prompting the user to restart it. After its restarted the package continues and removed the previous and installs the new.

How can we go about avoiding the issues we are seeing with the windows explorer crashing?

Nik
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 5:55 pm

Re: SCCM Deployment Error

Post by Nik » Tue Jun 02, 2015 2:29 pm

If you kill the process, you are asking for trouble. Don't do it, exit the process normally. An installer does it as part of the installation procedure (exits world_clock.exe, which removes the embedded taskbar clock from Windows Explorer's system tray area).

Use the silent install switch "/S" if you need to. See this for details.

BusinessMan
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 1:27 pm

Re: SCCM Deployment Error

Post by BusinessMan » Tue Jun 02, 2015 2:33 pm

If i run the install locally it does as you stated. However for some reason when deployed via SCCM it does not stop the process and the removal/install never occurs.

Nik
Posts: 426
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 5:55 pm

Re: SCCM Deployment Error

Post by Nik » Tue Jun 02, 2015 4:30 pm

This command:

Code: Select all

world_clock.exe /exit
Will terminate World Clock gracefully, including detaching its hook.dll from Explorer shell (taskbar clock). You can try running it in SCCM before anything else if it allows for such things.

BusinessMan
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 1:27 pm

Re: SCCM Deployment Error

Post by BusinessMan » Wed Jun 03, 2015 12:19 pm

I was able to get that to run, thank you.

Post Reply