Cloning a team

Discussion forum about Anuko Time Tracker
Post Reply
staples99
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:19 pm

Cloning a team

Post by staples99 » Mon Mar 05, 2018 3:42 pm

Hi,

Is it possible to clone a team? For example export Team A data and then import back into Anuko to create Team B.

Thanks
Simon

wrc
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 8:30 pm

Re: Cloning a team

Post by wrc » Mon Mar 05, 2018 4:06 pm

staples99 wrote:Hi,

Is it possible to clone a team? For example export Team A data and then import back into Anuko to create Team B.

Thanks
Simon
As duplicate logins are not allowed, you may try this:

- Export team.
- Edit all logins in the xml file to something different, for example by appeding a suffix. Look for logins in the <users> section. See example below.
- Then to re-import team.

Unmodified XML fragment.

Code: Select all

<users>
  <user id="1" login="user_alpha"
  ...
XML file fragment with a changed login (appended an undescrore to user login).

Code: Select all

<users>
  <user id="1" login="user_alpha_"
  ...

staples99
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:19 pm

Re: Cloning a team

Post by staples99 » Fri Mar 09, 2018 9:53 am

Hi,

Thank you for the reply. That make sense. What would you suggest to use to edit the XML file?

Thanks
Simon

Nik
Posts: 440
Joined: Wed May 26, 2010 5:55 pm

Re: Cloning a team

Post by Nik » Fri Mar 09, 2018 3:28 pm

staples99 wrote:What would you suggest to use to edit the XML file?
Use a text editor (any one of them) to open, edit, and save the file.

If on Windows, perhaps try Notepad++ https://notepad-plus-plus.org/ that understands Unix line endings. WordPad should work, too.

staples99
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:19 pm

Re: Cloning a team

Post by staples99 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 2:57 pm

Ok that's great. I will give it ago and let you know how it goes.

staples99
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:19 pm

Re: Cloning a team

Post by staples99 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 3:05 pm

It worked :D :D :D

Thanks

staples99
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:19 pm

Re: Cloning a team

Post by staples99 » Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:48 am

Hi All,

I have tried this method again today to duplicate a team and it states that the import has been successful but when going back to the teams list it is not showing. Also the new team or user is not showing in the database.

Do you have any ideas?

Thanks
Simon

wrc
Posts: 251
Joined: Tue May 25, 2010 8:30 pm

Re: Cloning a team

Post by wrc » Wed Aug 08, 2018 11:31 pm

staples99 wrote:
Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:48 am
Hi All,

I have tried this method again today to duplicate a team and it states that the import has been successful but when going back to the teams list it is not showing. Also the new team or user is not showing in the database.

Do you have any ideas?

Thanks
Simon
IMHO, it is best to open a support incident.

Post Reply